Four rossoneri players nominated for FIFA World Player of the Year Award!

The FIFA World player of the Year award list has been released and it has seen 5 of Italy's World Cup winners nominated while last year's winner Fabio Cannavaro is back to defend his crown.

Italy's 5 representatives are Fabio Cannavaro, Gianluigi Buffon, Gennaro Gattuso, Andrea Pirlo and Alessandro Nesta, whilst Kaka is also on the list coming from Italy. Shocks waves have been sent all around Italy as two of Serie A's best players last season have not been mentioned. Golden Boot winner, Francesco Totti as well as Zlatan Ibrahimovic have all been left out.

Milan's Brazilian Kaká and Ronaldinho have been tipped as favourites and many feel that the Champions League winner will edge past his fellow Brazilian to take home the trophy for the first time in his career.

Other names that have been mentioned is Barcelona's Lionel Messi along with fellow Argentinians Roman Riquelme and Carlos Teves. All three of these players are applying their trade in either Spain or England and they are the country with the most representatives having 10 each. While Italy have 6 players, Germany 3 and France with just one.

The club that is best represented is Barcelona with seven, while Chelsea with their international stars have 5 (two from Africa) and Milan have 4 players.

Last year Fabio Cannavaro took home the title, who will take it home this time? The winners will be announced on Wednesday the 17th.
Who do you think will win?
Key: Blue players are the Azzurri,
White are the players applying their trade in Italy.
Here is the list of players nominated:
Gianluigi Buffon (Italia)Fabio Cannavaro (Italia)Petr Cech (Repubblica Ceca)Deco (Portogallo)Didier Drogba (Costa d'Avorio)Michael Essien (Ghana)Samuel Eto'o (Camerun)Gennaro Gattuso (Italia)Steven Gerrard (Inghilterra)Thierry Henry (Francia)Juninho (Brasile)Kakà (Brasile)Miroslav Klose (Germania)Philipp Lahm (Germania)Frank Lampard (Inghilterra)Rafael Marquez (Messico)Lionel Messi (Argentina)Alessandro Nesta (Italia)Andrea Pirlo (Italia)Franck Ribery (Francia)Juan Roman Riquelme (Argentina)Ronaldinho (Brasile)Cristiano Ronaldo (Portogallo)Wayne Rooney (Inghilterra)John Terry (Inghilterra)Carlos Tevez (Argentina)Lilian Thuram (Francia)Fernando Torres (Spagna)Ruud Van Nistelrooy (Olanda)Patrick Vieira (Francia).


Pat said…
I reckon Messi and Cristino Ronaldo are in with a shout and dont forget RVN who scored 25 in debut season with Real
Milanista said…
Yeah those two are probably two of the closest contenders to Kaka but I still think he will get it.

Champions League top goal scorer, put in fantastic performances, embarrased C.Ronaldo in the semi-final and he has been a good embassador on and off the field too.

It would be great to have anothe Milan player win it.
Ricardo15 said…
Like the blog and the pictures! Packed with soccer info! I added it to my bloglines account. If Kaka' doesn't win the award then it's going to "o menino bonito" Cristiano Ronaldo. I do agree with you that CR7 "disappears" against a big strong team like Milan and in the big occasions like the Champions League.
Pat said…
By far Kaka is the favorite but Milan poor start to the season may affect his chances.

Still, I think it would be a shame not to give it to him after his CL 07 performance
Milanista said…
Hey thanks Ricardo15! Very kind of you to do so.C. ROnaldo will definitely get it if Kaká doesn't but I hope he doesn't though.

The only thing that bothers me is that if Kaká doesn't get the award due to Milan's poor performance at the start of the season, then it will just annoy me that Cannavaro got it, as when he moved to Madrid he wasn't exactly the player he was at the World Cup. He wasn't good at all.
Ricardo15 said…
I agree Cannavaro was a "shadow of his former self," pre-world cup. He was red-carded more than once in his 1st season in Real Madrid. Mistakes that led to goals... For me, Cannavaro and Juninho didn't deserve to be in the final nominee list. They needed to be replaced by Ibrahimovic and Totti. Inter's scudetto was more an Ibra scudetto. I'd say he pulled the team except in the Champions LEague games of course. We'll see- I see it 1) Kaka 2) Cristiano Ronaldo. Rafa Marquez didn't have a great season either, not even with Mexico. He could have been dropped out of the list too.
Milanista said…
Yeah Marquez wasn't that good either. I would rather have in Ibra (even if I can't stand the guy but his performances were fantastic) Totti and Toni. Toni also has a good season last year. And now he can't stop scoring with Bayern. 8 goals in 9 games, speaks for itself

Popular Posts